On Friday, we had reported about WhatsApp working on a feature to give group admins more power and control.
The report was, the instant messaging application working on incorporating a “Send message” option which will let only the admin of a group to send a message. In simple words, by enabling this feature, only the group admin will be able to send messages in the group and no one else.
Members will not be able to participate in any group discussions or chats after the feature has been enabled by the admin. None can respond to the messages, they can only read the message sent by the admin. Until now the feature was in works, Facebook-owned WhatsApp has now officially launched the feature for all, including users India.
“Today, we’re launching a new group setting where only admins are able to send messages to a group,” WhatsApp notes in its blog post. So, how does this new group feature work?
With this feature, the admin of a WhatsApp group can basically disable the chat feature. This means, only the admin can send messages in the group. It is noteworthy that the feature can be controlled only by the group admin, one or more.
How to enable the send message feature on the group?
–Update the app to the latest version
–go to settings
–open group info
–tap of group settings
–click on send messages
–select “Only admins” option
After the feature has been enabled, other members of the group will not be able to send any reply or message in the group. According to me, this new group feature is a great initiative for the dominating bosses and the nosy college teachers/professors, but not too good for family groups. Why?
WhatsApp group feature was created so that people can have group chats or discussions. But, with the new send message feature, the essence of the group feature is lost. If the feature is enabled, the members of the group can no longer have a group chat.
However, in case a group member wants to message something urgently in the group, he/she will need to contact the admin so that they can enable the option for all participants. It is only the admin changes the group setting that the member can send a message to the group.
Once the admin changes the permission for all participants, it will be notified in the group with a message, which reads as follows: “You changed this group’s settings to allow all participants to send messages to this group”.
“One way people use groups is to receive important announcements and information, including parents and teachers at schools, community centers, and non-profit organizations. We’ve introduced this new setting so admins can have better tools for these use cases,” WhatsApp notes on announcing this new group feature.
“This setting is rolling out to all users around the world on the latest supported versions of the app,” writes WhatsApp. This means the new WhatsApp feature will be available to all iOS, Android and Windows users.
The rollout of the feature is reportedly happening in a phased manner. This means, if you are yet to get the feature, you may get it in the next few days. Ensure to update the WhatsApp app to the latest version to get this feature.
News credit : Indiatoday