Breaking News Uttarakhand

Met dept predicts heavy snowfall, rain in Uttarakhand

DEHRADUN: After a prolonged dry spell, isolated places in the hills received scattered rainfall on Sunday, thanks to the influence of western disturbance.

Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) has issued a warning of heavy snowfall at higher reaches of Uttarkashi, Chamoli and Pithoragarh districts on Monday, while ‘yellow-colored’ hailstorm warning was issued for isolated places in Dehradun, Haridwar, Pauri and Nainital districts.
On Sunday, most places located on the foothills, including Dehradun, witnessed generally cloudy to overcast weather causing a dip in the maximum temperature by a couple of notches.

Talking to TOI, Bikram Singh, director of Met center, said, “A strong western disturbance is having an impact on the whole of North India, including Uttarakhand. While weather changes were visible from Sunday itself, maximum rain and snow have been predicted on Monday, with heavy snowfall likely in three hill districts.”
Western disturbance is a non-monsoonal precipitation pattern driven by the westerlies. IMD sources said that the influence of the interaction between this western disturbance from Afghanistan and lower level easterlies over plains of northwest and adjoining central India is likely to cause, “scattered to fairly widespread rain/snowfall” over the western Himalayan region during February 13.

It will continue to have an impact on Uttarakhand till Tuesday forenoon and weather would be clear afterward, according to sources from the Met office. Officials said that even stations like Mussoorie, Nainital, and Chakrata might witness snowfall on Monday. As a result, the temperature is expected to drop considerably. At present, the maximum temperatures are settling above normal in both the plains and hills.
However, no significant change in temperatures is expected in the rest of the country in the next 2-3 days.
The IMD had earlier issued a warning of thunderstorm accompanied by a hailstorm at isolated places in Jammu, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Haryana, Chandigarh and Delhi, west Uttar Pradesh, east Rajasthan, and Vidarbha.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *