karnatka 2018 election
India Politics

Karnataka By-Election 2018 Results Live Updates: It’s Battle Of Prestige Between BJP, Congress-JDS Alliance

10:11am: In Ballari, VS Ugrappa of the Congress has extended his lead to 1,18,856 votes after 7 rounds of counting.

10:02am: In Mandya, LR Shivaramegowda of JD(S) is leading by 20,633 votes.

10:00am: In Jamkhandi, Anand Siddu Nyamagouda of the Congress is leading by 16, 516 votes after 7 rounds of counting.

09:52am: In Ballari, VS Ugrappa of the Congress is leading by 1,00723 votes after 6 rounds of counting.

09:47am: In Shivamoga, BY Raghavendra of BJP is leading by 2627 votes.

09:44am: In Ramanagaram, Amitha Kumaraswamy of JDS is leading by 23,596 votes after 5 rounds of counting.

09:42amIn Shivamoga, BY Raghavendra of BJP is leading by 2627 votes

09:40am: S Madhubangarappa of JDS is leading in Shivamoga by 1414 votes after 2 rounds of counting.

09:32am: In Jamkhandi, Anand Siddu Nyamagouda of the Congress is leading by 9,555 votes after 5 rounds of counting.

09:27am: BJP’s Raghavendra leading over JDS candidate S Madhubangarappa by 3906 votes in the 1st round of counting in Shimoga: ANI

09:23am: Congress candidate Anand Siddu Nyamagouda leads over BJP’s Kulkarni Shrikant Subrao by 7149 votes in 4 rounds in Jamkhandi assembly seat, reports news agency ANI.

09:15am: Congress candidate VS Ugrappa is leading in Ballari.

09:00am: Polling for election to the three Lok Sabha and two assembly constituencies was held on November 3.

08:56am: The by-elections were necessitated after BS Yeddyurappa (Shivamogga), Mr Sriramalu (Ballari), and CS Puttaraju of JDS (Mandya) resigned as parliamentarians following their election to the Karnataka assembly. Bypolls to Jamkhandi assembly seat was necessitated due to the death of Congress MLA Siddu Nyamagouda. In Ramanagara, Chief Minister Kumaraswamy gave up the seat.

08:40 am: A total of 31 candidates have contested the bypolls in five constituencies. Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy’s wife Anita Kumaraswamy, state BJP chief BS Yeddyurappa’s son BY Raghavendra and former Chief Minister S Bangarappa’s son Madhu Bangarappa are among the candidates.

08:37 am: Counting of votes began at 8 am and a total of 1,248 counting staff have been deployed for it.

08:29 am: The BJP has pulled all stops to wrest Mandya from the JDS, which was vacated by the party’s CS Puttaraju after he was elected to the assembly from the Melkote constituency.

08:17 am: The fight in Ballari will also be a test for Congress’s DK Shivakumar, who played a key role in forming the alliance with HD Kumaraswamy. Mr Shivakumar has overseen the campaign for the Congress candidate.

08:04 am: Counting of votes in bypolls to three Lok Sabha and two assembly constituencies has begun.

07:45 am: The Congress fancies its chances as in this year’s assembly elections, it won six of the eight assembly segments that fall under the parliamentary seat.

07:44 am: The seat fell vacant after Mr Sriramulu resigned to contest the assembly elections.

07:43 am: The BJP has fielded J Shantha, sister of party strongman B Sriramulu.

07:42 am: The ruling Congress-JDS alliance hopes to wrest the mine-rich North Karnataka constituency of Ballari from the BJP.

07:23 am: All three former chief ministers represented the parliamentary constituency in the past.

07:22 am: Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United), a BJP ally in Bihar, is also in fray, fielding Mahima Patel, son of JH Patel.

07:22 am: The JDS candidate is Madhu Bangarappa, son of former Chief Minister S Bangarappa.

07:21 am: In Shivamogga, the BJP fielded Mr Yeddyurappa’s son BY Raghavendra, who won the seat in 2009.

07:20 am: The ruling alliance is banking on the fact that their combined vote share in the eight assembly segments in Shivamogga was more than that of the BJP in the last assembly elections.

07:18 am: Retaining Shivamogga is a matter of pride for the BJP.

07:17 am: The contest in Shivamogga is attracting much attention, with sons of three chief ministers battling for the seat that fell vacant after BS Yeddyurappa resigned to contest the assembly elections.

The results for the Shivamogga, Ballari and Mandya parliamentary seats, and Jamkhandi and Ramanagara assembly seats in Karnataka will be declared today. Counting of votes for these seats has begun. Out of the three parliamentary constituencies, the BJP held two, while the JDS one. The BJP holds Shivamogga, which is a stronghold of its state chief BS Yeddyurappa, and Ballari, which is the fiefdom of mining baron Reddy brothers. Mandya is the JDS bastion.

It is a matter of prestige for both the BJP and the ruling Congress-JDS alliance after the assembly election in the state. It was a loss of face for the BJP as the Congress and JDS entered a late alliance to deprive it from forming the government despite being the single largest party. A good show would be a boost for the ruling Congress-JDS alliance in the state, which is facing questions of longevity.

In 2014, the BJP had won 17 of Karnataka’s 23 parliamentary seats. The Congress won 9 and HD Kumaraswamy’s Janata Dal Secular 2 seats. The BJP won 104 of the 224 seats in the assembly election in May.



News credit : Msn.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *