Telangana Assembly
India Politics

Congress releases first list of candidates for Telangana Assembly polls

The Congress has released its first list of 65 candidates for the December 7 Telangana Assembly polls.

The list was released after a marathon meeting of the party’s Central Election Committee (CEC) chaired by party president Rahul Gandhi, by CEC General Secretary Mukul Wasnik.

State party chief N Uttam Kumar Reddy will contest from the Huzurnagar constituency.

The Congress party is seeking to upstage K Chandrashekar Rao-led Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in the southern state.

The Congress is seeking to have an electoral understanding on various seats with Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party (TDP), which was an ally of the ruling NDA and walked out of the ruling alliance over the issue of the Centre not granting special status to Andhra Pradesh.

Naidu is now meeting various opposition leaders and is seeking to be a part of a united front of various parties to defeat the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).



News credit : Indiatoday

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *