pm modi
India Politics

Arithmetic of no-confidence motion against Modi government

According to the Lok Sabha website, the House has 535 members. This makes 268 the half-way mark for the BJP-led NDA government to achieve during voting on the no-confidence motion in the Lok Sabha.

However, a PTI report this morning quoted unnamed sources as saying that Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan had accepted the resignation of BJD MP from Kendrapara in Odisha, Baijayant Jay Panda.

At the same time, Kerala Congress (M) leader Jose K Mani has quit his membership after having been nominated to the Rajya Sabha. The twin developments bring down the effective strength of the Lok Sabha to 533 and the majority mark to 267.

So, there are altogether 11 vacancies in the Lok Sabha. Five YSR Congress MPs had resigned. Their resignations were accepted on Wednesday (July 18) by Speaker Sumitra Mahajan. Two of BJP MPs – BS Yeddyurappa and B Sriramulu – had also resigned and their resignations were accepted yesterday.

Other members to vacate their seats are CS Putta Raju of the JDS – he become a minister in HD Kumaraswamy government in Karnataka and JK Mani of the Kerala Congress – elected to the Rajya Sabha and resigned from the Lok Sabha.

Of the total membership in the Lok Sabha, 313 belong to the ruling NDA including 274 (including the Speaker) of the BJP, 18 of Shiv Sena, six LJP and four SAD.

The Opposition parties have 222 MPs including 63 of the Congress-led UPA, 37 of AIADMK, 34 of TMC, 20 BJD, 16 TDP and 11 TRS. The AIADMK and the BJD are considered as neutral parties in the Opposition bloc and they may abstain during voting on no-confidence motion.




News credit : Indiatoday

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *