Bureaucrats & former military men

10% Bureaucrats & Former Military Men In PM Modi’s Coucil Of Ministers

Bureaucrats & former military men account for nearly 10% of PM Narendra Modi’s council of ministers. The list includes a former home secretary, a retired diplomat, a former Mumbai police commissioner and an ex-Army chief.

The presence of such a significant number of civil servants and ex-Armymen is seen as the PM’s push to get projects implemented in the run-up to the 2019 general elections.

Four former bureaucrats — Raj Kumar Singh, Hardeep Puri, Satyapal Singh and Alphons Kannanthanam — were sworn in on Sunday, taking the number of civil servants and ex-Armymen to seven.

The strength of the council of ministers after Sunday’s expansion now stands at 76. Puri and Alphons will have to get elected to either of the two Houses of Parliament in the next six months.

The other three ministers from bureaucrats & former military men are former Army chief V K Singh, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore and Arjun Ram Meghwal, a former IAS officer from Rajasthan.

V K Singh, LS MP from Ghaziabad, is an MoS in the foreign ministry. Olympic medallist Rathore has been made MoS with independent charge of sports and youth affairs.

Rathore is also an Mos in the I&B ministry. Meghwal is an MoS in the ministries of finance and water resources, river development and Ganga rejuvenation.

Kannanthanam, a 1979 batch Kerala cadre IAS officer, has been given independent charge of tourism. He will also be an MoS in the electronics and information technology ministry. Hardeep Puri, who was India’s ambassador to the UN, has independent charge of the housing and urban affairs ministry.

Satyapal Singh, former Mumbai top cop, will be MoS in the HRD ministry and the ministry of water resources, river development and Ganga rejuvenation. He had quit from service ahead of LS polls to begin his political stint.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *